SLU Alumnus of the Year 2019

Last changed: 30 October 2019

SLU Alumnus of the Year is someone who is an inspirational role model for our students and employees at SLU and has had a prominent career or made important contributions in their field.

The nomination period is closed. We will announce who is awarded in December.

Award criteria

The nominee must meet at least one of the following criteria:

  • The nominee has had a prominent career.
  • The nominee has made an outstanding contribution to their field.
  • The nominee has done something that benefits SLU.

In addition to these criteria, the nominee must have studied at SLU for at least one year.


The Alumnus of the Year will receive the award and hold a short seminar on Thesis Day, 27 May 2020.

Previous winners

2013 - Olle Forshed (In Swedish)

2017 - Johan Rockström

2018 - Elin Olofsson


The jury consists of: 

  • Maria Knutson Wedel, Vice-Chancellor, SLU
  • Erik Fahlbeck, Pro Vice-Chancellor, SLU
  • Rolf Brennerfelt, Chair of the SLU Board
  • Maria Bergkvist, Acting Head of Communications, SLU
  • Board of Education representative (tbc)
  • Sluss
Page editor: