This is the NJ Faculty

Last changed: 09 January 2024

At the Faculty of Natural Resources and Agricultural Science (NJ) we work with what is the prerequisite for life:  soil, water and biodiversity - with focus on agricultural issues.

The mission of the Faculty of Natural Resources and Agricultural Sciences is to advance and impart knowledge that will lead to management of our natural resources in an ecologically, socially and economically sustainable manner.

The faculty encompasses a wide range of disciplines and is divided into 13 departments. Alongside the departments are a number of collaborative centres and research platforms.

Most of our deparments and units, as well as the faculty office, are located in Uppsala, although important work is also done at Umeå, Öregrund, Drottningholm, Karlskrona, Skara, Lysekil and Grimsö.

Short facts about the NJ faculty

Students: 1230
Employees: 998
Professors: 65
Doctoral students: 191
Turnover: SEK 1389 million, external finansing degree 54% (EMA 69%)

(From the annual report of 2020.)

Doctoral education

Research schools

The NJ Faculty runs seven research schools:

Doctoral education at the NJ Faculty

Welcome to visit the staff webb where you can find information about the organization and procedures of doctoral education at the NJ-faculty. You will also find contact information to persons who can give advise and support.

Doctoral education at SLU

The Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences (SLU) is one of Sweden’s top research universities, with an extensive range of research degrees on offer.  As a doctoral candidate, you will be a part of a supportive research community and an exciting and challenging research culture.


At the NJ Faculty, we carry out research within Natural Sciences as well as within Social Sciences and the Humanities. More information can be found at each Department's webpage.

Strong Basic Research

Basic research is a prerequisite of innovative and powerful applications. Below follows some examples of our strong basic research programmes.

  • The ecology of nitrogen cycling communities with emphasis on denitrifying organisms
  • Effect of plant oils on fish metabolism and the significance of the fatty acid composition
  • Environmental chemistry focusing on fate and exposure of persistent organic pollutants (POPs)
  • Significance of species diversity for ecosystem function

Sector Related Research

The researchers of the NJ Faculty formulate, in dialogue with industry and authorities, important issues that have bearing on sustainable agriculture and forestry, for example:

  • Carbohydrate quality in cereals
  • Biological methods of pest control
  • Sustainable biofuel production
  • Plant breeding of Salix
  • Stump harvest for climate benefit

Peak Research

According to the evaluation of our university in 2009, Quality and Impact Opens in new window, there are several internationally competitive and excellent research groups among the departments of the NJ Faculty. The highest ranked areas are:

  • Ecology
  • Plant Biology
  • Plant Protection


Collaboration with industry, authorities and organisations is a natural part of SLU activities. The university contributes with knowledge and competence in various collaboration projects.

The Faculty's experts in different subjects combine proficiency in research with extension activities in their subject areas. Please, contact them if you have any questions.

Environmental Monitoring and Assessment

SLU's Environmental Monitoring and Assessment (EMA) meets society's need for decision support, including support for Sweden's national environmental objectives and international environmental cooperation.

EMA works in twelve programmes. Seven of them are organized within the NJ Faculty:

Special resources at the NJ faculty

We have many unique resources at the NJ faculty. Plant cultivation facility, greenhouses, NMR-instrumnets, Mass Spectrometry and Lysimeter are examples of available, expensive equipment. 


Related pages: