About the department

Last changed: 25 October 2023

At the Department of Biosystems and Technology we explore interactions between soil, plants, animals, environment, climate and humans in systems for sustainable production of food and renewable raw materials. Our teaching and research deal with questions about sustainable and efficient use of limited resources for production in greenhouses, on agricultural land and in farm buildings.

The research activities combine detailed studies in biology and technology of production systems with systems analyses and cross-disciplinary syntheses. The Department has a broad competence in agricultural and horticultural crop science, bio-energy, technology, animal welfare, resource use efficiency, environmental impact and food safety. We deliver research-based knowledge in teaching at basic and advanced levels and through collaboration with society, and contribute thereby to innovations, advisory services and decision making for solving complex problems.

Teaching is primarily performed within the programs Agroecology (MSc program, 120 credits), Horticultural Science (300 credits), Agricultural and Rural Management (180 credits), and Horticultural Management (180 credits).

The Department was formed on 1 January 2013, and consists of around 60 persons from the previous Departments of Agrosystems, Horticulture, and Rural Buildings and Animal Husbandry.


Contact details for the Department of Biosystems and Technology

Postal address:
Biosystem & teknologi
Box 190
SE-234 22 Lomma

Visiting address:
Sundsvägen 16, Alnarp

Delivery address:
Växtskyddsvägen 3
234 56 Alnarp

Department e-mail address:

List of employees:

Head of Department: Hanna Sassner
Phone: +46 (0)40-41 50 62
E-mail: Hanna.Sassner@slu.se
Deputy Head of Department: Linda-Maria Dimitrova Mårtensson
Phone: +46 (0)40-41 51 29
E-mail: linda.maria.martensson@slu.se
In charge of undergraduate education:
Lars Mogren
Phone: +46 (0)40-41 53 76
E-mail: lars.mogren@slu.se

Project coordinator:
Tanya Skartved Hemel

Nour Alhamidi

Economic support:
Gunilla Andersson

HR support:
Johanna Strand

Safety officers:
Lotta Nordmark (head officer)
David Hansson

Union representatives:
Andrus Kangro [SACO]
Anne  Larsen [ST]