About the Department of Soil and Environment

Last changed: 05 February 2018
mvm.jpg

The Department of Soil and Environment is part of the Soil-Water-Environment cluster at SLU and belongs to both the Faculty of Natural Resources and Agricultural Sciences and the Faculty of Forest Sciences. It is located in Uppsala, Sweden.

Our research seeks knowledge about the interaction between man, soil, plant and the surrounding environment in forest and agricultural landscapes as well as urban environments.

We teach at several of SLU’s undergraduate programs and run two masters programs. Our post-graduate training involves around thirty PhD candidates. On behalf of Swedish authorities, we collect, analyze and report data on the state of the environment.

Do you want answers to specific questions? Take a look at our collaboration page.

Organisation

Head of Department: Håkan Marstorp, hakan.marstorp@slu.se, 018-672556
Deputy head of Department: Erik Karltun, erik.karltun@slu.se, 018-671277
Administration manager:
Åsa Brorsson, asa.brorsson@slu.se, 018-671254
Financial Officer: Lisa Groiss, lisa.groiss@slu.se, 018-671479
Economy administrators:
Ing-Marie Bringholm, ing-marie.bringholm@slu.se, 018-672460 &
Anna Wennberg, anna.wennberg@slu.se, 018-672595
Course Secretariat: Josefine Agrell, mark-kurssekretariat@slu.se, 018-671594
Web editors: Cajsa Lithell, cajsa.lithell@slu.se & Gertrud Nordlander, gertrud.nordlander@slu.se
Environmental Coordinator: Torbjörn Nilsson, torbjorn.nilsson@slu.se, 018-673459

Division managers

Soil physics: Karin Blombäck, karin.blomback@slu.se, 018-671263
Precision agriculture and pedometrics: Bo Stenberg, bo.stenberg@slu.se, 0511-67276
Soil chemistry and biology: Erik Karltun, erik.karltun@slu.se, 018-671277

Teaching & Laboratories

Directors of Undergraduate Studies:
Magnus Simonsson, magnus.simonsson@slu.se, 018-671272 &
Jan Eriksson, jan.o.eriksson@slu.se, 018-671271
Director of Postgraduate Studies: Elisabet Lewan, lisbet.lewan@slu.se, 018-672629
Contact for the laboratories: Erik Karltun, erik.karltun@slu.se, 018-671277

The department is environmentally certified to ISO 14001.

 

Spara

Spara

Spara

Spara

Spara

Spara

Spara

Research organisation

Soil chemistry and biology

Head of Division Erik Karltun, erik.karltun@slu.se, 018-671277

Soil biology - Björn Lindahl, bjorn.lindahl@slu.se, 018-672720
Soil chemistry - Jon Petter Gustafsson, jon-petter.gustafsson@slu.se, 018-671284
Biogeochemistry of Forest Soils - Johan Stendahl (acting contact person), johan.stendahl@slu.se, 018-673801
Plant nutrition and soil fertility - Holger Kirchmann, holger.kirchmann@slu.se, 018-672292

Soil physics

Head of Division Karin Blombäck, karin.blomback@slu.se, 018-671263

Biogeophysics - Nicholas Jarvis, nicholas.jarvis@slu.se, 018-672465
Agricultural water management - Jennie Barron, jennie.barron@slu.se
Water quality management - Lars Bergström, lars.bergstrom@slu.se, 018-672463, 070-5207141
Soil management - Thomas Keller, thomas.keller@slu.se, 018-671210

Precision agriculture and pedometrics

Head of Division Bo Stenberg, bo.stenberg@slu.se, 0511-67276

Find us

Visiting address in Uppsala: Lennart Hjelms väg 9, Uppsala

Buses to SLU Ultuna

From the Central station in Uppsala, you can take bus 4, 100. 101 or 188 to Campus Ultuna. The bus company no longer accepts cash on buses in Uppsala, they do however take credit cards. You can find more information regarding timetables and tickets at the Upplands Lokaltrafik web site.

Mailing address

Department of Soil and Environment
Box 7014
750 07  Uppsala

Billing address

SLU Fakturamottagning
Box 7090
750 07  Uppsala

Delivery address

Department of Soil and Environment
Gerda Nilssons väg 5
756 51  Uppsala
Telephone: +46(0)918-67 10 00

Skara

Department of Soil and Environment
Box 234
SE-532 23  Skara
Telephone: +46(0)511-67 000
Visiting address: Gråbrödragatan 19, 532 31  Skara

Lidköping

Lanna försöksstation 
SE-531 93 Lidköping
Telephone: 0510-530005

Umeå

Department of Soil and Environment
SE-901 83  Umeå
Telephone: 090-786 81 00 (vx)
Visiting address: Skogsmarksgränd, 901 83 Umeå

 

Spara

Spara

Facts:

The Department was formed in 2008 through an amalgamation of the Department of Soil Science and the Department of Forest Soils. We moved into our premises in the new state-of-the-art Soil-Water-Environment building at Ultuna, Uppsala in 2011.


Contact

hakan.marstorp@slu.se, 018-672556

Page editor: cajsa.lithell@slu.se