Stress granules

Last changed: 30 October 2021

Stress granules are transient membraneless organelles which are formed in eukaryotic cells in response to stress. They are composed of messenger ribonucleoprotein complexes, have core-shell substructure and are essential for regulating the rate of protein translation and signalling under stress, with important implications for cancer and neurodegenerative diseases. Our current efforts are to unravel molecular structure of stress granules and their biochemical role in plant development and fitness.

This research is supported by the Swedish Research Council VR.

Stress granules



Selected publications

Xie Z, Zhao S, Li Y, Deng Y, Shi Y, Chen X, Li Y, Li H, Chen C, Wang X, Liu E, Tu Y, Shi P, Tong J, Gutierrez-Beltran E, Li J, Bozhkov PV, Qian W, Zhou M, Wang W. 2023. Phenolic acid-induced phase separation and translation inhibition mediate plant interspecific competition. Nat Plants. doi: 10.1038/s41477-023-01499-6. 

Gutierrez-Beltran E, Strader L, Bozhkov P. 2023. Focus on biomolecular condensates. Plant Cell. doi: 10.1093/plcell/koad182.

Solis-Miranda J, Chodasiewicz M, Skirycz A, Fernie AR, Moschou PN, Bozhkov PV, Gutierrez-Beltran E. 2023. Stress-related biomolecular condensates in plants. Plant Cell. doi: 10.1093/plcell/koad127.

Mountourakis F, Hatzianestis IH, Stavridou S, Bozhkov PV, Moschou PN. 2023. Concentrating and sequestering biomolecules in condensates: impact on plant biology. J Exp Bot. 74(5):1303-1308. 

Gutierrez-Beltran E, Elander PH, Dalman K, Dayhoff GW 2nd, Moschou PN, Uversky VN, Crespo JL, Bozhkov PV (2021) Tudor staphylococcal nuclease is a docking platform for stress granule components and is essential for SnRK1 activation in Arabidopsis. EMBO J e105043

Gutierrez-Beltran E, Moschou PN, Smertenko AP and Bozhkov PV (2015) Tudor Staphylococcal Nuclease Links Formation of Stress Granules and Processing Bodies with mRNA Catabolism in Arabidopsis.  Plant Cell 27: 926-943.

Ongoing collaborations

Ongoing collaboration:

Alexey Amunts (Stockholm University)

Emilio Gutierrez-Beltran (University of Seville)

Christoph Langhammer (Chalmers University)

Vladimir Uversky (University of South Florida)