Bilateral collaboration with Tanzania

Last changed: 20 October 2017
Tanzania_map.jpg

SLU is actively engaged in the bilateral cooperation with Tanzania. The agreement period for this programme between Sweden and Tanzania financed by Sida is 2015 - 2020. The main focus during the agreement period lies on research capacity building and institutional capacity building. The postgraduate training will take place both at universities in Tanzania and in Sweden (sandwich students).

Below is a list of the seven subprogrammes where SLU are involved as collaborators. If you want to know more about the projects, please contact the SLU collaborator for each subprogramme.  

Ardhi University (ARU)

Strengthening Capacity on Research and Innovation for Sustainable Land and Environmental Management for Inclusive Development (Stem-Id)

Improved well-being and poverty alleviation in Tanzania, through effective use of research results, innovations and highly trained human resources for informed decision making in matters pertaining to land, environmental management and human settlements development is the main objective of the overall programme. Read more about the programme.

Research projects:

2190. Quest for Alternative Urban Planning Model for Small Towns in Tanzania.
Coordinator: Ally Namangaya (namangaya@yahoo.com)
Swedish collaborator: Rolf Johansson, SLU (rolf.johansson@slu.se)

2191. Governance of Land and Municipal Services in Urban Centers in Tanzania.
Coordinator: Alphonce Kyessi (akyessi@gmail.com)
Swedish collaborator: Rolf Johansson, SLU (rolf.johansson@slu.se)

2197. Informality and Habitation in the Context of Changing Urban Landscape.
Coordinator: Livin Mosha (livinmosha@gmail.com)
Swedish collaborators: Rolf Johansson, SLU (rolf.johansson@slu.se), Erik Johansson, LU (erik.johansson@hdm.lth.se)

2273. Research Supporting Components and Community Outreach Programme.
Coordinator: Riziki Shemdoe (riziki@aru.ac.tz)
Swedish collaborator: Rolf Johansson, SLU (rolf.johansson@slu.se)

University of Dar es Salaam (UDSM)

2213. Sustainable Agricultural Productivity, Processing, and Value Chain for Enhancing Food Security in Tanzania.
Coordinator: Agnes Mwakaje (agneselishadai@gmail.com)
Swedish collaborator: Gert Nyberg, SLU (gert.nyberg@slu.se)

2231. Agribusiness and Sustainable Development.
Coordinator: Lettice Rutashobya (lettice@udbs.edsm.ac.tz)
Swedish collaborator: Linley Chiwona Karltun, SLU (linley.chiwona.karltun@slu.se)

Example of projects in Tanzania

Ground water recharge and livestock feed in drylands of Tanzania
Lufunyou Lulandala and Peter Ruvuga are admitted as PhD students at SLU in a sandwich mode and are both within the Food Security sub-programme of the capacity development programme between University of Dar es Salaam and Swedish universities (e.g. SLU) financed by Sida. Read more about the two projects in Tanzania.

Page editor: MALIN.PLANTING@SLU.SE